About us

The Association of Memorial Museums is a direct management institution of The Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia. 

It began its work on October 1, 2009, and was established by the Cabinet of Ministers with Instruction No 369, 2 June 2009, on establishing the state agency “The Literature and Music Museum and The Literature, Theater and Music Collection,” the state agency “Association of Memorial Museums,” and the state agency “The Literature, Theater and Music Museum,” along with reorganisation of the state agency “Ojārs Vācietis Memorial Museum” and the state agency “Andrejs Upīts Memorial Museum.”

The Association contains six museums:
The Jānis Akuraters Museum,
The Krišjānis Barons Museum,
The Rainis and Aspazija Museum (including the Rainis and Aspazija House in Riga, the Rainis and Aspazija Summer House in Majori, the Rainis Museum “Jasmuiža” and the Rainis Museum “Tadenava”),
The Janis Rozentāls and Rūdolfs Blaumanis Museum,
The Andrejs Upīts Memorial Museum (in Rīga and in Skrīveri),
The Ojārs Vācietis Museum.

The work of the association is to ensure that the lives and creative work of important individuals from the cultural history in Latvia are presented in a modern way and in a memorial environment which reflects the development of Latvian literature and culture from the perspective of specific notable persons and their lives.

Our aim is to continue to nurture the individuality of each memorial museum while, at the same time, ensuring a harmonised environmental supervision and development strategy and a unified museum philosophy.